

Soil and Land Conservation Council

In October 2019, the Government approved the re-establishment of the Soil and Land Conservation Council (SLCC) as prescribed under the *Soil and Land Conservation Act 1945* (SLC Act).

The re-established Council membership from 1 October 2019 to 31 March 2021 (Figure 1).

- Chair, Kevin Goss agriculture and natural resources consultant
- Deputy Chair Dr Hayley Norman, Research Scientist: ecology, livestock production, forage development and farming systems. Saltbush and salinity
- Dylan Copeland natural resource management consultant, Western Australian Local Government Association
- Dr Lynne Johnston Strategic management consultant, farmer and grazier
- Bob Nixon farmer
- Natarsha Woods Wheatbelt NRM Chief Executive Officer
- Dr Richard George Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
- Doug Morgan Main Roads Western Australia
- Adam Maskew Department of Water and Environmental Regulation
- Renata Paliskis Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage
- Commissioner of Soil and Land Conservation (ex officio)

Mr Kevin Goss, Chair and Western Australian Farmers Federation nominated member, retired effective 31 March 2021. Mr Chris Wilkins was appointed as the WAFF nominated member on 10 August 2021 to 30 June 2022.

Ms Renata Paliskis, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage, resigned as a member effective 31 March. Mr Matthew Darcey was appointed as the DPLH member on 10 August 2021 to 31 March 2022.

Cec McConnell commenced as Commissioner on 14 September 2020, following Andrew Watson's retirement in March 2020.



Figure 1 Soil and Land Conservation Council in 2019 (left to right): Dr Lynne Johnston, Natarsha Woods, Bob Nixon, Andrew Watson (retired March 2020), Dylan Copeland, Dr Hayley Norman (Deputy Chair), Dr Richard George, Kevin Goss (Chair), Adam Maskew, Doug Morgan and Renata Paliskis.



Soil and Land Conservation Council

Council membership from 21 August 2021 to 30 June 2022 (Figure 2).

- Chair, Dr Hayley Norman Research Scientist: Ecology, livestock production, forage development and farming systems, saltbush and salinity.
- Dylan Copeland natural resource management consultant, Western Australian Local Government Association.
- Dr Lynne Johnston strategic management consultant, farmer and grazier.
- Bob Nixon farmer.
- Chris Wilkins agronomic and farm business management advisor.
- Natarsha Woods Voluntary Conservation Organisation.
- Dr Richard George Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, Water Science leader.
- Doug Morgan Main Roads Western Australia.
- Adam Maskew Department of Water and Environmental Regulation.
- Matt Darcey Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage.
- Cecilia McConnell Commissioner of Soil and Land Conservation (ex officio).



Figure 2 Soil and Land Conservation Council in 2021 (left to right): Dr Hayley Norman (Chair), Cec McConnell (Commissioner), Bob Nixon, Dr Lynne Johnston, Natarsha Woods, Dr Richard George, Dylan Copeland, Doug Morgan. (Adam Maskew absent).